Bigger breasts are not this easy

Today I stumbled across an incredible new technology which may just help you bridge the gap between your social life and the size of your boobs; the breast enlargement ringtone for your cellphone.

Dr Hideto Tomabechi is a Japanese cognitive scientist who has made it his mission to understand, among other things, how so called “functional” sounds can effect your neurochemistry and, indeed, even your physiology.

The basic premise behind Dr Tomabechi’s “rock melon” ringtone (no, I am not making this up) is that a woman’s breasts will enlarge if she is exposed to the sound of a crying baby repeatedly over a long period of time. Presumably making a ringtone which just sounds like an infant would be too darn simple, so the doctor decided to make that awful screeching noise instead.

Apart from the fact that Tomabechi went through a lot of effort for what he could have achieved in a few minutes with a microphone and an unhappy baby, the premise seems sound. However, there are a few questions which are not answered by Dr. Tomabechi or the producers of the Discovery Channel insert.

In an effort to understand the science behind the “rock melon” ringtone I tried to find any published research supporting the claims made by Dr Tomabechi. Unfortunately I was not able to find evidence of any trials of Dr Tomabechi’s ringtone. I could find nothing documenting a proposed mechanism for the ringtone’s effect, no information on methodology for testing the ringtone, no details about whether any women’s breasts were measured, nor how they were measured.

The only “evidence” we have for the effectiveness of “rock melon” is that which is presented by the Discovery channel, namely a young lady, called Ria, who measures her own chest circumference with a measuring tape. This is extremely weak evidence. Ria’s self measurement is open to too many unaccounted for variables. Firstly, Ria could have been been open to confirmation bias, she could have been wearing a more restrictive bra during the first measurement than the last, she may have taken a deeper breath for the last measurement. All of these confounding variables (and many more) are possibly producing a false positive result and because there is no research available, my concerns cannot be addressed.

The video clip makes brief mention of other evidence; correspondence from women around the world who wrote to Dr Tomabechi to affirm the effectiveness of the ringtone. Unfortunately this anecdotal evidence carries no weight in science and does not contribute to proving the efficacy of the ringtone.

In an effort to understand the possible effects of a babies cries on the size of a womans breasts I spoke at length with a professional midwife with extensive experience in the maternity wards of large hospitals in Durban and Johannesburg, Brenda O’Sullivan.

I carefully explained the details of Tomabechi’s ringtone and asked her opinion on whether or not prolonged exposure to the sound of a crying baby would  cause a womans breasts to grow.  Brenda’s answer was an unequivocal “NO”.

In her opinion there is no plausible mechanism by which the sound of a babies cries could cause the female’s breasts to grow. Whilst all mothers who have breastfed (myself included) can testify to the sensation of her milk “coming in” as her infant suckles at the breast, and sometimes even at the sound of his / her hungry cries, the very important difference is that these women are lactating already. Their bodies have gone through 40 long weeks of hormone induced changes to prepare them for this job.

Dr Tomabechi makes one further statement I would like to address, in the video he claims that their is a “muscular message” which tells the fat stored on your belly and on your butt to move towards your breasts. This claim is ludicrous. It is based on two flawed premises; firstly that fat stores in your body can move and secondly that messages to your muscles can cause this movement.

To address this ridiculous ambulatory fat idea I will turn to the Wikipedia entry on adipose tissue (human body fat);

In humans, adipose tissue is located beneath the skin (subcutaneous fat), around internal organs (visceral fat), and in the bone marrow (yellow bone marrow). Adipose tissue is found in specific locations which are referred to as ‘adipose depots.’ Adipose tissue contains several cell types, with the highest percentage of cells being adipocytes, which contain fat droplets. Other cell types include fibroblasts, macrophages and endothelial cells. Adipose tissue contains many small blood vessels. In the integumentary system, which includes the skin, it accumulates in the deepest level, the subcutaneous layer, providing insulation from heat and cold. Around organs, it provides protective padding.

Your body fat stays where it accumulates until you force your body to use it as fuel through vigorous physical activity. Listening to a strange noise is not going to instruct your muscles to move fat around in your body. Your muscles are not capable of doing this.

In closing, I would like to quote Michael Meadon’s thoughts on the topic of the breast enlarging ringtone;

Show me the evidence, Bitch!

I think that sums it up perfectly.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

88 responses to “Bigger breasts are not this easy

  1. I have always had pretty small breasts…it seems they just sort of never fully grew. Honestly they stayed the same size since 8th grade. I am 25 now and for the first time I got a job working with a baby as a nanny. I have been there for about 6 months now and have noticed changes in my breasts. They are fuller, heavier and they are quite sore a lot more times out of the month than they used to be with the usual cycle soreness/growth, I have made no other significant diet/lifestyle changes and have not gained weight. When I look up the symptoms of sore and heavy breasts in women who are not pregnant or premenstral it mentions an estrogen dominant hormonal imbalance. I think it could be possible that hearing a baby crying or being around them could elevate estrogen levels?? I love the way my breasts look (the soreness gets old though) I am scared that when I no longer am working there my breasts will shrink back :(

  2. Pingback: Laugh-Place|Funny Picture|Funny Quotes » » Erectile Dysfunction Workup – Uncovered·

  3. Pingback: Some Guidelines On Real-World Breast Enlargement Shots Programs·

  4. I have a question… If it makes the fat on your butt move towards your breasts, does it make your butt smaller ? Or this fat is some kind of “extra” fat….. Has anyone experienced something like that ?

  5. It’s working for me. Your skepticism is why you have no boobs you can be proud of. Anyway it’s your decision, just keep living your way.

    • Haha, nice one, going straight to mocking my body when you have nothing better to say. And I love my boobs.

  6. For moment I was pondering if the ring tone would increase the breast size of any men in a women’s life that was using the ring tone, didn’t take long to conclude it would not. Such a ringtone would drive those men away, if she got a lot of phone calls. Enen the men who like tiny tits.

  7. Pingback: How To Increase Breast Milk Let Down·

  8. Women who adopt newborns and want to breastfeed are advised to listen to recordings of babies crying. I can’t say if the ringtone works or not as I have not tried it. However, based on the science behind nonpregnant and nonbirth mothers who refuse hormone treatments being able to still be made to lactate, I would have to say this hullabaloo is actually plausible.

  9. Pingback: How Long Are Silicone Implants Good For | How To Make My Breasts Bigger·

  10. Dnt knock it until u try it. I tried it just today and notice results. U feel this weird sensation in ur boobs I can’t rlly explain it but give it a chance before ranting about it being bs

    • Hey Dominique…you go get em girl!!
      I have a favor to ask….will you please post a link to it for us who did not capture it when we had the chance and now cannot access it!
      Thank you a million times over!
      Sincerely,

  11. Hello, I was curious about this ringtone a couple of weeks back and decided to give it a try. I’ve been listening to it everyday, even for hours at times. This is my second week and I proudly admit that my breasts did grow (not as much as I would’ve liked) but I can actually tell the difference. Some women say that the ringtone started working as soon as they listened to it but I suppose that it works differently for everyone, I started feeling my breasts sore and harder, rounder after the first week and a half. I’m willing to try it for a couple more weeks and see how it goes. Also, I’ll admit that I used to have a really BIG and ROUND behind, but I’ve noticed that since my breasts started growing, I’m losing my behind almost completely :( Does this ringtone have anything to do with it?

  12. I’m almost 19 and it DID WORK with me. The ringtone is free so just prove it. Don’t discuss if you know nothing.

    • And Liz, I believe you, I know that feeling too.
      People, don’t waste more time guessing. Make the test or shut up!

      • if you don’t mind me asking, how long did it take for you to notice the results because i am on day 5 :)

  13. Then why is it that right after listening to the ringtone only 2 times, my breasts started having the growth spurt ache feeling whenever they started to grow? I know this feeling and it stopped 4 months ago cuz I finished puberty and my metabolism was going down.

  14. I like the part where you refute a scientist’s claims because they have no evidence to back them up, but then take a midwife’s own unfounded claims as evidence the scientist’s statements

    • oops. Although, the truth is that the size of our breasts changes throughout our menstrual cycle anyway. You should try measuring your bust at regular intervals when you are not listening to this ringtone as a way to see what your own natural variation is.

  15. A lot of argueing dam!are any of you gonna try it ?iam so please let me know if it works for you?ill do the same thanks

    • i have been listening to this for 2 days and i can feel a big difference in my busts i have measured my breasts when i first started and i will measure them again after 10 days…
      i so hope this works I”m tired of an A cup…
      i will give an update in 8 more days

    • the trith is this whole rintone thing wont work the same for everybody. It’s like if five different boys have acne and they all use the same treatment, it may work on all of them or it might only work on two and make the other three’s worse or have no change to it. I also agree with all of you freaking out about it not work or that there is no way possible for it to. If you are not going to try it to see if it really work then say what you think you need to say and stop freaking out about it. If you think it doesn’t then let the ones who do have there dream.

      • I am not freaking out about anything. This is not the same as acne cream because the cream will be properly trialled and tested among a wide range of people and actually have some science to back it up.

        Rock Melon is based on utter pseudoscience and is not backed up by any evidence.
        Opinion doesn’t matter. evidence does.

  16. Pingback: Episode #15: Meteorites, Ghosts and Franken-milk | Consilience·

  17. I would like to point out that the coverage on subliminal stimulation through sound is very very powerful. Secondly in the video it mentions three mechanics working together to produce the effects of the ringtone, no alone a baby crying cant make a woman’s breasts grow, but perhaps there are other things. So with my first point, it makes sense that Dr Hideto Tomabechi would not want the other two mechanics to be made public. Reproduction of his project by other people and or companies is probably something he doesnt want. If this ringtone is actually able to do what he says, im sure there are more than a handful of companies who would like to steal the mechanics of this. Furthermore, you havent debunked anything. Never did Dr Hideto Tomabechi say he did a professional group study, im sure he didnt feel he needed to, and why would you pay for a blind study when you can use the internet to conduct your own test. So of course there isnt going to be documented cases of this working.

    Also, subliminal messages are real and they do work, now how effective they are depends solely one the recipient. This is very similar to hypnosis in the way that something or someone is trying to comunicate subconciously. If you are open to the idea it usually makes it much much easier for you to be influenced. If you are skeptical then you lock your subconcious. It is quite ingenious if you think about it. The fact that it is breast enlargment and women are pressured into wanting this makes them very open to the idea allowing the messages to be communicated easily with the subconcious.

    i think i covered everything, if not oh well

    • anon,
      Very good evaluation, one thing i feel needs some elaboration.
      You say that “The fact that it is breast enlargement and women are pressured into wanting this makes them very open to the idea allowing the messages to be communicated easily with the subconscious.”
      If this is true then other silly products and such that claim to enlarge breasts would work just as well as this ringtone. There are things out there such as pills, gums, creams and so on that are advertised to enlarge breasts; the women who use those products are likely some of the same women that might use the ringtone. If none of the products had any actual effect on breast size then the subconscious effects would be the same since the women would feel the same desire for larger breasts with any method they chose.
      It is important to point out that for the most part the products i’ve mentioned do not work and if they do, it is very minimal and difficult to measure.
      That being said in order for breast enlargement to occur with the ringtone there must be some other “active ingredient” that accounts for its success (or at least the reports of success from many readers of this blog as well as others).
      I honestly have no idea what that might be, but i thought it was an important point to make.

      • One thought I would just mention is that the idea of open subconscious is presented with the subliminal message not the subconscious alone. The other products are not audio with these factors so trying to compare them in such a way is not entirely correct though your point does introduce an important side to the arguement.
        That was my thought- thanks

    • “and why would you pay for a blind study when you can use the internet to conduct your own test. So of course there isnt going to be documented cases of this working.”

      Great, that explains everything! Why don’t we just do away with scientific testing all together and believe everything we read about on the internet! Who needs rigorous protocols anyway?

      The very definition of “subliminal” is that it is perceived by some part of your brain which is not influenced by your conscious mind. This really is an interesting topic and I am surprised by how many people seem to believe it. I will have to do an article dedicated to the subject.

      • For the record I, personally, am not for or against, just interested in the idea and want every possible angle observed. Though it must be recognized we will not know the in’s and out’s of Mr. Tomabechi’s research and development for this product and so we are sort of punching out into thin air instead of hitting the punching bag itself, if you will.
        That wad my thought- thanks

  18. I have no idea how, but I can also say that something happened to my chest. And coincidentally enough, it was during the time that I listened to that stupid thing. So… I loved reading this SO very much. And I want to jump on board because logic is logic and from what I can see, logic says it can’t work. But… My boobs are bigger. :S

    • And you haven’t considered normal factors like weight gain, hormonal fluctuations (my boobs grow about half a cup size the week before my period, but every woman is different) and water retention? boobs change size on their own all the time, and you body is always changing whether you perceive it or not. You have imagined the change or the change simply coincided with hearing the sound and would have happened even if you had not heard the sound.

      “Subliminal messaging” can put ideas or feelings in your head. It does NOT cause your body to change.

      Your body only cares about babies when it knows you’ve had one recently. Your body is really good at knowing when you have and have not had a baby.

      • There was a study done on men who were asked to visualise weight training over a period of 12 weeks. their muscle increased 14% without lifting a single weight. Do not underestimate the power of the mind.

        • Okay so I know I’m really late on this article I’m a 26 year old woman (who also consequently was an A cup a couple months ago). Not only that, but I also have 2 other sisters who, with myself included, make the family’s only fraternal triplets. We look nothing alike. My sister, Mary is a 5’2 size 2 brunette with brown eyes; my sister Claire is a 5’4, size 8 blonde with brown eyes, and I’m a 5’1 size 4 brunette with hazel eyes. The only thing we had in common were our small breasts. After trying massages (because all 3 of us wanted bigger boobs without surgery) and yoga, nothing was really happening. I had heard of aromatherapy but, shortly after I began research on that method, I had come across this RockMelon ringtone. Of course, I was sure it couldn’t be true or else we all would have heard of it, however, the majority of responses were positives. Most of the negative responses I had come across were people who hadn’t actually tried it and just were “so sure” it wouldn’t work. So, I brought the ringtone to my sisters and we all, for 3 months, listened to it approximately 20 times a day. At the end of this trial, mine and Mary’s breasts were at C cups, and Claire’s were at a D. So, not at all to brag or anything because if you’re happy with your breasts then you really don’t need this, but I’m merely responding to provoke some thought. You say it’s all about the evidence, but I would ask, isn’t it technically more about the results? If 10,000 people watch the YouTube video and 90,000 of them “like” it, though it is not ‘sound evidence’, would that change whether or not it worked? Rather than to think about what scientific evidence this ringtone doesn’t have, maybe you should consider that the fact that you don’t have any solid argument against it, which would neither debunk nor prove this method, henceforth wouldn’t this entire article be based off someone’s opinion on whether this sounds like it works when it should not even be opinion based? It is a question but also more to think about any further articles you write talking about “no scientific fact” when you yourself have none against it either. (And the fact that it worked for my sisters and I is evidence as well as just about every other comment on here whether or not you think it’s sufficient enough. The only thing that matters is results.)

  19. www :
    Nice, fighting lack of scientific info with a lack of scientific info. Kudos on questioning the results, but you don’t exactly debunk it. That excerpt you included doesn’t say anything about fat not moving. I would suggest you google “prednisone hump” and “moonface”. As you will see, fat can and will redistribute in your body as a result of changes in its chemistry (in this case, prednisone in the system causes it to move to the face and upper back area, it’s quite a dramatic change).

    the prednisone induced “buffalo hump” and “moon face” are not due to ‘moving’ fat from one are of the body to another, they are additional fat deposits that would not other wise be quite as large or as noticeable. The steroid increases fat deposition throughout the body but has a preference for the top of the back and the face, or at least that is where it is most noticeable.

    Fat can be mobilized by conversion to fuel, when your caloric intake is less than your output for prolonged period of time your body will start pulling fat from adipose tissue for energy, this decreases fat but does not re-locate it.

    (please disregard/remove my previous 2 posts)
    *removed*

  20. Seems to me it would be HORRIBLY disturbing to listen to such “sounds”…but I am one of those that feels “shortchanged”! I can’t afford the BLEEPIN cosmetic surgery and have been self obsessed, absorbed, and for more than 30 years have been completely and insanely affected by my insecurity! This is so very personal and extremely difficult to allow myself to express this to all who may care to read it- but it is high time that people who are so opinionated that this topic is “stupid”, “not important”, etc…
    WAKE-UP, it is all around us,,,those like myself can’t even sit in their own living room with friends/guests (men) WITHOUT hearing a comment about big boobs. And always these comments tainted with the excitedly desired tones. So is it so hard to conceive why so many of us feel less than acceptable after consistent exposure to indirect verdicts of not “measuring up”-“less than desirable”, etc…No not all women interpret these things like I – but, alot of women/ ALOT OF WOMEN DO without conscious thought. As humans we are affected by entirely everything whether we realize it or not – it makes us who we are,,,or are not! Those of you who have no “connecting” to what I have stated, well God bless you and rock on with your positive self esteemed bad selves-I am very happy for you. But try for a moment to understand that even though you don’t identify with my feelings—-that there are many, many who unfortunately do. Oh I could go on, but I am so sick of the boob topic that is always ALWAYS in my mind-…………Thank you for reading this….I just wish “people” would be more consciencious sp? of how things can affect/effect others….depression,suicide, etc…etc… and no, I am not an unattractive woman, nor a weak minded individual, infact I can be most challenging in interesting nonjudgemental conversation…..;please don’t be so quick so sum up those things in others that you don’t personally understand yourself because indeed we are all different and thank God because if we weren’t-then imagine you could be plagued with me as your aunt, your competition, or worse…??? Have a GREAT DAY!

    • While I empathize with your self confidence issue, I do not understand that it has anything to do with this article. I do not think the topic is stupid or unimportant. I do not understand how having great self esteem makes anybody a bad person.

      • Hi Angela, yes you are right- I was “off topic” and it does not have relevance to the actual subject of discussion.I do thank you for your empathism sp? But about esteem and bad person…no-I guess I came off completely opposite of the actual intention…When I was writing, I thought it was a pretty comical way of saying that I was simply very happy for all those that have no “hang-ups” in this area. Maybe if you could say out loud to yourself (as if you were talking to a friend who just won $20 in a lottery- or other situation) “you go girl-carry on with your bad self” maybe you’ll get the giggle I always do from it. I truly meant nothing negative by it.Bye

    • If you get that upset over not having big boobs, you ARE weak minded. Getting big boobs wouldn’t solve your problem anyway. A therapist might. If you were rich enough for cosmetic surgery, your deep insecurities would probably turn you into a plastic-surgery-addicted-barbie-freak. If your friends only talk about boobs, it’s time for new friends. Do some volunteering or read some books about a new subject. There is more to life than boobs.

      • Cookies :
        Who said anything about getting depressed or upset. Some just want bigger boobs.

        Cookies, read chris’s comment.
        “I can’t afford the BLEEPIN cosmetic surgery and have been self obsessed, absorbed, and for more than 30 years have been completely and insanely affected by my insecurity!”
        She even mentioned suicide. OVER BOOBS.

    • I agree with you. I have suffered with this problem as well, it makes you feel less of a woman. I suffer from having my left breast going on a C cup and my right breast barely an A cup, it makes wearing a bra very uncomfortable. It does NOT make you weak-minded. Because of society these days, the thought that big boobs are the ideal, it has been pounded into our heads since we were young girls. It wouldn’t have such a psychological effect if women were just accepted for who they are. People can’t understand it unless they go through it.

      • Thank you for
        ..just THANK YOU for you!
        I knew someone out there had to “get it”!
        Better stop or else they will “pig-pile” me again!

  21. Pingback: 2010 in review « The Skeptic Detective·

  22. … This worked for me… I listened to it 20 times a day for about 2 weeks, but after 10 days they stopped growing. I grew 3.2 centimetres. After those few days when i woke up in the morning i would have a weird sensation in my chest, like they were kind of sore. I’m not guaranteeing this works, but for those who are wondering, it worked for me…

    • well, at least I tried to put my mind to the problem, which is more than I can say about your comment.

      • I have to agree. If you’re going to comment, don’t embarrass yourself, make it constructive at least?

  23. Nice, fighting lack of scientific info with a lack of scientific info. Kudos on questioning the results, but you don’t exactly debunk it. That excerpt you included doesn’t say anything about fat not moving. I would suggest you google “prednisone hump” and “moonface”. As you will see, fat can and will redistribute in your body as a result of changes in its chemistry (in this case, prednisone in the system causes it to move to the face and upper back area, it’s quite a dramatic change).

  24. Actually, he did provide evidence in the discovery channel bit with a computerized diagram, and he made measurements of a woman, and took a before and after shot. Also, me and 3 other friends tried it, nearly 2 weeks later, we had to go bra shopping for bigger bras. :P

  25. skepticdetective :
    You say that like “subliminal” actually means something.
    Subliminal messages are a myth, there is no proof that they are used or that they work.

    Not true. for a while, the film and theatre companies used to leave subliminal images in films. for 1/60th of a second every so often, they’d have an image of food or a drink in the film, causing the watchers to become hungry and purchase food from the snack bar in the long run.

    when people found out about this, it was a huge deal.

    • This is a very complex topic. I think I will write a longer article so that I can tackle the issue more thoroughly. Thank you for your interest and please stay tuned.

      • skepticdetective :
        You say that like “subliminal” actually means something.
        Subliminal messages are a myth, there is no proof that they are used or that they work.

        They are real and they are used ALL the time. We do it to each other in everyday conversation even. It’s psychology at its best. :P Or worst, depending.

  26. Bob B Billard :I think they wen’t a little overboard with things but from what I understand, mind you I’m just skimming. Anyways here’s my 2c.
    I believe this guy has found a way to tickle your brain with sound in such a way that when a female hears this ‘ringtone of a crying baby’ she starts becoming maternal.
    Naturally when women get pregnant their bodies start to change in order to best help the child. I.E. Larger breasts
    But if there isn’t an actual baby there that will be the only change you’ll see..(hopefully)
    Now not any ordinary baby crying would be able to switch a mother into maternal mode. Thats where the need for computer tweaking comes into play. Say he did research on a mother and her baby crying and what parts of the brain were being lit up
    He creates a wave of sounds that will light up the same areas without the baby needing to be present.
    and bam easy breast enlargement ringtone.
    if this makes no sense at all I’m a bit drunk..my apologies

    This is very well explained but the ringtone doesn’t sound LIKE a baby. It is a baby’s crying combined with high pitched frequencies and other sounds science used to make it possible. If we can go to the moon, why can’t we make ringtones like this. People use sound for therapy, comfort, annoying others, etc. It’s all possible. Besides, we only use less than 10% of our brains everyday. Female creatures do begin growing larger breasts if the body THINKS it is pregnant. Not just humans, animals too. That’s how they adopt other pups or kittens for instance and raise them thinking of them as their own offsprings. We also have women that take the role of a “Wet Nurse”, meaning a women who produces lactation but isn’t pregnant. To the moderators of this site that also bag on this article, please do your research in every way possible before discouraging hope-filled women out there without having a good reason to say that none of it is true or is highly unlikely. If you don’t believe it, you try it first and THEN see if it worked for you or not. Another factor is that your period enlarges the breasts too. So if youre going to try this ringtone out ladies, make sure to keep everything in track, like your period and push ups (push ups make your chest more toned out yes, but it also makes your boobs more firm because the ligaments will have tighter pecs to connect the fat too instead of saggy chest muscles). Put everything into consideration before trying this and before criticising it.

      • You say that like “subliminal” actually means something.
        Subliminal messages are a myth, there is no proof that they are used or that they work.

    • Yea I Started MidDay YesterDay … Did It Do Yu Good ? Really .. Science To Me Is FIne In All But The Sound Might Be Like A Miracle .. They Both Cant Be Explaiined .

      • Hold on a minute here, you think the breast ringtone can’t be explained? It has been explained, and I’m disinclined to accept the explanation based on the grounds in my article.

        Please ladies, if you’re going to try it, at least come back and tell us what happened? Not because I think it will work, but because I’m going to start deleting these comments after 7 days if you do not.

    • I started this rock melon thing on wed. and I have some questions. Also my boobs increased by 1 cm in 5 days, counting wed.
      -If you keep listening to it(after a week) will your boobs still increase?
      -What’s the maximum they can get?

      Please email me to answer my questions! Thanks so much!
      tjnss@yahoo.com

  27. (wikipedia, some sites are fine, they are checked up on, you have to check the information on it. i.e if they have been read over, if someone flagged it, what their resources were etc. and when citing wiki- it is best to have another reference with it except when it is common knowledge)… 1st the discovery channel is putting utter crap up to fill up the gaps in air time BUT apart from how the fat part was worded in this video it could be plausible. And this man is not a biologist, but a cognitive psychologist. and under cognitive psychology this could be possible, but the brain can react differently in every person depending on the circumstances, their nature and their subconscious reaction- As the brain is linked to the body (mind over matter)… how would YOU get someones personal, new and not yet accredited research?… the woman in the video measuring herself was a way to show the ‘research’ on film. your nurse friend obviously would say no as she works with babies- how big are her breasts? and she strictly works with straight up biology. but this is the study of the mind. when someone is depressed do they get fat? sometimes yes, something in their surrounding affected them and it affected them personally -in that way because they are unique (for natural and nurture reasons) ((so not everyone will get depressed)) now this mood creates hormones in their brain that creates other ‘symptoms’. like an increase in other hormones and a decrease in others- that have been said to stimulate fat. that persons biological make up will also be a factor, and not to mention depression causes self doubt so they would probably allow the weight gain to continue. . frequencies affect the brain full stop. like some music makes us happy- and the happy hormone creates immunity in our systems. there is no reason why frequencies could not create estrogen/ hormones that stimulate estrogen etc ; however odd it might sound. but whether this man is a fraud or not we have yet to see. and if his work is true, as it is cognitive and there ARE so many factors included with the brain and body, including will power- it will probably never be accredited.. but the fact that he said fat will move makes me doubtful. because if he is so intelligent to make such ringtones he should be learning everything there is to know about how they work or how they could work.

    • Ok, so what I understand from your comment is that you are confused about the issue and somehow think that a ringtone designed to sound like a baby crying would have a different effect on a woman than the actual sounds of the babies cries?

      The brain is biological, I don’t follow your argument that because it’s cognitive it’s somehow related to depression? What were you trying to say Jess?

      • I think they wen’t a little overboard with things but from what I understand, mind you I’m just skimming. Anyways here’s my 2c.

        I believe this guy has found a way to tickle your brain with sound in such a way that when a female hears this ‘ringtone of a crying baby’ she starts becoming maternal.

        Naturally when women get pregnant their bodies start to change in order to best help the child. I.E. Larger breasts

        But if there isn’t an actual baby there that will be the only change you’ll see..(hopefully)

        Now not any ordinary baby crying would be able to switch a mother into maternal mode. Thats where the need for computer tweaking comes into play. Say he did research on a mother and her baby crying and what parts of the brain were being lit up

        He creates a wave of sounds that will light up the same areas without the baby needing to be present.

        and bam easy breast enlargement ringtone.

        if this makes no sense at all I’m a bit drunk..
        my apologies

  28. Pingback: It’s my first birthday! « The Skeptic Detective·

  29. You allow your students to cite wiki, mate, my university would absolutely smash us for using wikipedia because when it comes down to it, it is not always a valid and non-biased source.
    Your citing of wikipedia is pretty low, I mean, pay for a subscription to a science data base.
    Tomabechi claims may be unfounded, and I have little doubt they have much power to them, but I mean in saying that, it is no different to the midwifes opinion either really.

  30. So… as an academic snob of note, and as someone who DOES have access to an academic library, I use and cite Wikipedia all the time. Heck, I even allow my students to cite it, so long as it’s a featured article.

    Wikipedia is an excellent source of information, and it’s pretty much as reliable as Britannica. Obviously, I don’t cite it in papers — but, then, serious folks very rarely cite encyclopedias of any sort in formal writing.

  31. Wait a second, I did not say that if it’s not on Wiki it’s not real, furthermore how do my arguments become invalid simply because I use the internet as an information source?

    My ability to form a reasonable argument depends more on my ability to think rationally than it does on my local library.

  32. “and when you live out inn the sticks like I do, with NO access to a public or academic library, you just have to make the best of what you’ve got.”

    All your arguments just fell to nothing.

  33. yes, Wikipedia is a good source of information, and when you live out inn the sticks like I do, with NO access to a public or academic library, you just have to make the best of what you’ve got.
    If you would like to suggest better, free, online resources, I will be happy, HAPPY, to refer to them (provided they are trustworthy).

    • Just follow the sources cited at the end of the wikipedia page. That was my trick in college. They are usually respectable and can’t be edited by any old fool like wikipedia can.

Leave a Reply

