I’m back at last!

Stolen Cables

It has been six very long weeks since my phone cables were stolen by copper thieves. Today Telkom finally got everything back in working order and I am finally connected to the real world again. One thing which has become apparent to me during my forced isolation is just how dependent I am on the internet.

I’d like to share a few things with you briefly before I get started on a meaty post. First of all, I have found an absolutely fantastic website for all of you creationists and non-creationists out there. The Talk Origins archive is the online version of a little book known as the Counter Creationist Handbook. This work of sheer brilliance addresses every conceivable creationist argument in a thorough and well though out manner. It is essential reading for people on both sides of the debate. Enjoy!

Yesterday, the 16th of December, saw the launch of the Centre For Inquiry’s blog site. The CFI is a global federation committed to science, reason, free inquiry, secularism, and planetary ethics. From their nwsletter;

Consistent with CFI’s mission, the blog will offer uninhibited, unsparing, and provocative observations and insights on a variety of topics of interest to CFI and its supporters—including the supporters of CFI’s two principal affiliates, the Committee for Skeptical Inquiry and the Council for Secular Humanism.

I logged onto my facebook account today and found a great compliment on my “BlogNetworks” application;

a fine conversational debunking of the mythologies believers spread uncritically, a rational woman on an irrational culture, keep up the good work Angela, peace, Larry in Charleston, SC USA

Thank you very much Larry, there is nothing I enjoy more than positive feedback! Ok, maybe there are a few things, but we won’t go into that here.

Last but not least I would like to leave you with a quote by Robert Blatchford, an author who lived from 1851to1943;

Religions are not revealed: they are evolved. If a religion were revealed by God, that religion would be perfect in whole and in part, and would be as perfect at the first moment of its revelation as after ten thousand years of practice. There has never been a religion that which fulfills those conditions.

One response to “I’m back at last!

Leave a Reply

