SA Blog Awards 2009 – Results

vote-tagThe South African blog awards for 2009 were run in March of this year. I was very late in coming to the party due to recent connectivity problems and only started campaigning a few days before the end of the nomination process. Fortunately for me I have a wonderful collection of readers and I was absolutely amazed to see my blog in the list of ten finalists in the “Science and Technology” category.

A year ago when I started writing this blog I had no idea that this would happen. However, with your support I have received a degree of recognition which I could not have asked for at the outset of my blogging career. I did not win the award, but I thoroughly enjoyed being a part of it.

Thank you for reading my blog – it is your support which lets me know that I’m not just talking to myself 🙂

Angela

4 responses to “SA Blog Awards 2009 – Results

  1. Yeah, I actually gave up looking at my hits after a while as it was becoming a bit obsessive.

    Also, I was having trouble with Google Analytics, (my total aggregate of hits actually went backwards, which I thought must have been the hand of some evil supernatural force).

    Mom’s are usually the best blog readers!

    • Mike’s always teasing me about how obsessed I am about my blog stats, I have to remind him that my obsession is the reason they are so much higher than his… 🙂
      Seriously though, I am thrilled that ANYONE reads it, and even if it was still just me and my mom, I’d keep writing because I LOVE it!

  2. Well done for making the last stages. Did you see an appreciable gain in your page hits since the awards and has it ‘raised your equilibrium’ somewhat?

    • Hi David. I have definitely seen an increase in my daily hits since the blog awards, I’m not as popular as “Pharyngula” yet, but my hits have gone from approx. 150 to 250 a day in the past month. I know it’s not much in the greater scheme of things, but I celebrate every hit because when I started this blog the only people reading it were me and my mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

