A giant leap for mankind

July 20th 1969 was a day which our civilisation will never forget. Everyone withing viewing distance of a television (by that I mean an estimated 500 million people worldwide) was transfixed by the spectacle of mankind’s first step onto an alien world, our moon. Unfortunately I was not born until 13 years after the space race was sorted out by Neil Armstrong’s intrepid boot, and as such I view the episode with awe and have always wondered what it might have been like to live through this incredibly exciting moment in human history.

Well, in a little over a month I will be transported 40 years  back in time when I load the “Moonwalk One” DVD into my PC and watch in awed silence as I relive the glory-days of manned space exploration. I can’t wait to see for myself in digitally restored glory. Are you as excited as I am?

3 responses to “A giant leap for mankind

  1. I certainly understand your reservation James, we have seem every kind of conspiracy theory leveled against mankind’s accomplishments. I am not worried about it though. What more can the conspiracy junkies claim that cannot be thoroughly explained?

  2. There is one thing that I am not looking forward to … we can expect a new flurry of conspiracy nuts who will now have the opportunity to freeze-frame between shots and find MPEG artefacts (like, say, an extra “shiny” pixel which reveals that there was an open door on the sound stage letting-in real light). They will then claim these are proof that the whole event was staged.

    Nutters like home video … they even did it with the innocuous Three Men and a Baby after all (debunked).

Leave a Reply

