My hero smoked pot

Ok, so maybe this is old news to you, but I just found out that Carl Sagan smoked marijuana. Not only did he smoke the weed, he actually smoked enough of it to have developed quite a complicated philosophy about his experiences while high. He didn’t stop at scrawling unintelligible dawdles on an old history text book, he actually wrote about his pot philosophy and his thoughts were published in “Marihuana reconsidered”.

I must say this shocked me a little bit. Carl Sagan has quite possibly had more of an influence over my outlook on life than any other person alive (other than my mother, of course). Not only was Sagan an able scientist, he was also an eloquent speaker and author. From my first encounters with “Cosmos” to my most recent reading of “The Demon Haunted World” Sagan has taught me that it is good to ask questions and it is right to feel awe when considering the vastness of the universe. He has opened my eyes, encouraged me to be a sceptic and provided hours of material to feed my love of science.

Not that I’m complaining, of course, it’s just that I can’t imagine Sagan stoned, or with the munchies…

Maybe there are some clues in what he said…

“But the fact that some geniuses were laughed at does not imply that all who are laughed at are geniuses. They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright Brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown.”

“For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love.”

2 responses to “My hero smoked pot

Leave a Reply

