2010 SA Blog Awards Finals

Woo Hoo! I have made it into the finals of this years SA Blog Awards again! Thanks to every one of you beautiful people who voted for me and made this possible!

Now the hard work starts though. I would like to win this year. That might be presumptuous of me, but I think that I have a snowballs chance here. Why should you vote for me?

My blog is not about technology, it is about Science and critical thinking, that alone sets me and Ionian Enchantment apart from all the other geeks on this list. Don’t misunderstand me, there is nothing wrong with tech blogs, it would just be so cool to see a Science blog win this year!

Apparently, if you read my blog you will learn something. I found this comment by a local on the South African Skeptics Forum;

Angela’s Skeptic Detective is one of the best blogs I follow, Angela does very good dissections of those stupid hoax emails that infest our inboxes and her astronomy posts are excellent. She is also one of the founding members of the Skeptics in the Pub and deserves your support.

Thanks MDG!

I might not get a thousand hits a day (800 is close enough) or 20 000 a month (I only got 25 000 last month), but I don’t write this blog for the stats, or to be rich and famous and popular, I write this blog to help people. I write it to give my readers the tools they need to feel their way through the mystifying deluge of bogus science and health claims and allow them to come out the other side a little wiser and a little safer.

And Science is cool!

If you would like to see a science blog take the gold in the Science and technology category, please pop on over to the voting page, scroll down to the S&T Category and cast your vote for me or Michael. You’d be doing scientific literacy in South Africa a favor. While you are there, please cast a vote for Mike’s post, “In Praise of Deference”, which is a finalist in the “Best Post” category.

The voting phase is open until the 17th and you can vote once every 24 hours (yeah, who thought that would be a good idea?!).

4 responses to “2010 SA Blog Awards Finals

Leave a Reply

